Double-click to edit
Tap to edit

SPECIALISED INFORMATION SERVICE BIODIVERSITY

The Specialised Information Service Biodiversity Research (FID) provides access to current and historical biodiversity literature.

The Specialised Information Service Biodiversity Research (FID) provides access to current and historical biodiversity literature.

A cooperation of:

UB Frankfurt Senckenberg AG Text Technologie

Funded by:

DFG

Free Access to GLOBAL PLANTS via the FID

The Specialised Information Service Biodiversity Research provides free access to the JSTOR database "Global Plants" with its 2.5 million herbarium specimens for herbariums and botanical gardens in Germany.

The Specialised Information Service Biodiversity Research provides free access to the JSTOR database "Global Plants" with its 2.5 million herbarium specimens for herbariums and botanical gardens in Germany.

Text Mining Icon

Text-Mining

Our pilot project for text mining will mobilise data from biodiversity literature. We focus specifically on publications from Germany and on three groups of organisms: birds, butterflies, vascular plants.

We develop re-usable tools to permit processing of further text corpora with other organism groups and/or other geographic regions in the future. The mobilised data will be accessible via semantic search (in preparation).

 
 
Digital Collection Icon

Digital Collections

The digital collections contain digitised literature primarily from the portfolio of the University Library Johann Christian Senckenberg, but also from partner libraries. Our digital collections have a special emphasis on literature from Central Europe of the 20th century.

The purpose of the digitisation is easy accessibility, the creation of the text corpus for the text mining, and the transformation of journals which currently only exist in print.

Publish Online Icon

Journal Platform

Our platform for Open-Access journals will be extended as a long-term service for publishers (e.g. academic societies). The platform offers a professional website for every journal as well as several background services.

We host journals that are new, have been published digitally already, or existed only in print yet. We already manage Beiträge zur Entomologie (= Contributions to Entomology) and Flora et Vegetatio Sudano-Sambesica.

 
 
Literature & Licences Icon

Literature & Licences

The aquisition and the nation-wide provision of literature supplies scientists with print-only specialised literature. For this purpose, we consider the whole spectrum of organismic biodiversity.

Until further notice, this service is provided by the vifabio. Moreover, we offer transregional access to the database Global Plants.

Community Icon

Community

Our Specialised Information Service supports the scientists with additional services. Among these is the Calendar of Conferences, which gives an overview on the most important meetings, conferences, congresses in biodiversity.

We also plan several workshops in which scientists can learn the application of text mining tools and contribute to the development of the service.

Doppelklicken zum Editieren
Antippen zum bearbeiten

FACHINFORMATIONSDIENST BIODIVERSITAET

Der FID Biodiversitätsforschung (Fachinformationsdienst Biodiversitätsforschung) stellt aktuelle und historische Literatur zur Biodiversität überregional zur Verfügung.

Der FID Biodiversitätsforschung (Fachinformationsdienst Biodiversitätsforschung) stellt aktuelle und historische Literatur zur Biodiversität überregional zur Verfügung.

Eine Kooperation von:

UB Frankfurt Senckenberg AG Text Technologie

Gefördert durch:

DFG

Freier Zugang zu GLOBAL PLANTS über den FID

Der FID Biodiversitätsforschung ermöglicht für Herbarien und Botanische Gärten in Deutschland den kostenlosen Zugang zur JSTOR-Datenbank "Global Plants" mit mehr als 2,5 Millionen digitalisierten Herbarbelegen.

Der FID Biodiversitätsforschung ermöglicht für Herbarien und Botanische Gärten in Deutschland den kostenlosen Zugang zur JSTOR-Datenbank "Global Plants" mit mehr als 2,5 Millionen digitalisierten Herbarbelegen.

Text Mining Icon

Text-Mining

Unser Pilotvorhaben zum Text-Mining wird Daten aus der Biodiversitätsliteratur mobilisieren. Wir fokussieren dabei auf Publikationen aus Deutschland und auf drei Organismengruppen: Vögel, Schmetterlinge, Gefäßpflanzen.

Es werden nachnutzbare Werkzeuge entwickelt, die in späteren Schritten die Verarbeitung weiterer Textkorpora zu anderen Organismengruppen und/oder anderen geographischen Räumen erlauben. Die mobilisierten Daten werden für eine semantische Suche (in Vorbereitung) verfügbar gemacht.

Digital Collection Icon

Digitale Sammlungen

Die Digitalen Sammlungen enthalten digitalisierte Literatur, überwiegend aus den Beständen der Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg, aber auch aus Partnerbibliotheken. Bei der Digitalisierung setzen wir den Schwerpunkt auf die mitteleuropäsche Literatur des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Zweck der Digitalisierung ist neben der erleichterten Zugänglichkeit der Literatur auch die Generierung eines Textkorpus für das Text-Mining sowie die Transformation von bisher nur gedruckt vorliegenden Zeitschriften.

Publish Online Icon

Zeitschriften-Plattform

Unsere Plattform für Open-Access-Zeitschriften soll als langfristiger Service für Herausgeber (bspw. Fachgesellschaften) ausgebaut werden. Die Plattform bietet für jede Zeitschrift einen professionellen Webauftritt, verbunden mit zahlreichen Hintergrund-Diensten.

Gehostet werden sowohl neue bzw. bereits elektronische erscheinende Zeitschriften, als auch Titel, die bisher nur in gedruckter Form erschienen sind. Folgende Titel sind bereits online: Beiträge zur Entomologie (= Contributions to Entomology), Flora et Vegetatio Sudano-Sambesica.

 
 
Literature & Licences Icon

Literatur & Lizenzen

Die Literaturbeschaffung und überregionale Bereitstellung sorgt dafür, dass auch die nur in Printform erscheinende Spezialliteratur deutschlandweit für die Forschung zur Verfügung steht. Dabei wird die gesamte Bandbreite der organismischen Biodiversität berücksichtigt.

Der Nachweis erfolgt bis auf weiteres noch im Rahmen von vifabio. Außerdem wird die Datenbank Global Plants überregional bereitgestellt.

Community Icon

Community

Unser Fachinformationsdienst unterstützt die Forschenden mit weiteren Services. Dazu gehört ein Tagungskalender, der einen Überblick über die wichtigsten anstehenden Tagungen, Konferenzen und Kongresse der Biodiversität bietet.

Geplant sind auch mehrere Workshops, in denen Wissenschaftler unter anderem den Umgang mit Text-Mining-Werkzeugen erlernen und an der Weiterentwicklung des FID mitwirken können.